Extract from a publication entitled 'The Eastmoor Experience' by a 'Brian Shields' (ISBN 1 900604 01 9) as follows: -


May 1942.
During the latter part of the month and before East Moor station had a resident squadron, local agricultural workers and construction projects were still much in evidence on the airfield and several sightings were made of aircraft including Oxford, R6241 and Lysander V9606. A low level pass by a Wellington, W5424 was also noted. Presumably these were unofficial training visits to the airfield.

1 June 1942.
Believed to be the date upon which East Moor was handed over by the Ministry of Works to the RAF, and opened as a satellite to RAF Linton on Ouse.

4 June 1942.
The advance party of 158 Squadron arrived at East Moor from RAF Station Driffield and the first RAF motor vehicles were seen there. These in the form of personnel carriers and displaying B/4 identification insignia had been noted routing through the village of Strensall.

5 June 1942.
Further sections of 158 Squadron continued to arrive at East Moor and these included 'A' flight under the command of Squadron Leader M.R. Skeet and 'B' with Squadron Leader F.P. Hewitt. No squadron aircraft seen to date.

6 June 1942.
The main body of 158 Squadron under the command of Wing Commander P. Stevens, DFC arrived at East Moor. Some of the aircrew were converting to the Halifax bomber with 1652 HCU at Marston Moor while ground crew were gaining experience of the type with 35 Squadron at Linton on Ouse.

7 June 1942.
No.158 Squadron now established at East Moor and a Conversion Flight formed, under Squadron Leader Wilkerson, DFC. Pilot Officer C. W. Martin appointed Engineering Officer. Two uncoded Halifax lIs were seen at the northern end of the airfield and both being towed by tractors. These were W1157 and R9373.

8 June 1942.
No.158 Conversion Flight commenced training under Squadron Leader Wilkerson, DFC, and had Wing Commander Stevens, DFC, Squadron Leader Hewitt and Flight Lieutenant Porter as their first pilots under training. In the evening two more Halifaxs were seen at East Moor, W7745 and W1190, the latter was displaying a grayish white single letter 'T' aft of the roundel.

9 June 1942. Further Halifax IIs were seen parked on the loop between dispersals No.2 and No.4 at the northern end of the airfield, W1108, WI162 and W1003 which had faintly discernible ZA codes.